Skip to content

Leading Practice Mining Acts Review - Statutes Amendment Bill released | South Australia's Magnetite Strategy launched

There are lands in South Australia that are owned or controlled by the Commonwealth Department of Defence which they manage either as a training or test area.

These lands remain to be mineral land under the Mining Act 1971 (SA) and can be accessed for mineral exploration and mining subject to certain restrictions and conditions under the Defence Act 1903 (Cth) and Defence Force Regulations 1952 (Cth).

Woomera Prohibited Area (WPA)

The Woomera Prohibited Area (WPA) is used for 'the testing of war material' under the control of the Royal Australian Air Force. Management framework arrangements support co-existence between Defence and non-Defence users within the WPA.

The WPA is approximately 450 km NNW of Adelaide.

More information

Map of South Australia showing Woomera Prohibited Area
Cultana Training Area (CUTA)

The Cultana Training Area (CUTA) is the largest training area of the Department of Defence (Defence) in South Australia capable of supporting full combined arms exercises.

It is located approximately 370km north west of Adelaide in the Upper Spencer Gulf between Port Augusta and Whyalla.

More information

Cultana training area