Skip to content

Sixteen of South Australia’s brightest researchers will share more than $5.6 million in Federal Government funding to support new research projects commencing in 2015.

Science and Information Economy Minister Gail Gago applauded the young scientists for their hard work and contributions to the State.

“I am thrilled that in this latest round, 16 of South Australia’s early career researchers have won funding through the Australian Research Council’s Discover Early Career Researcher Award (DECRA),” Ms Gago said.

“DECRA supports and advances the work of early career researchers and provides opportunities for diverse career pathways.

“South Australia’s future is increasingly reliant on science, technology, engineering and maths (STEM) knowledge and skills.

“These national awards highlight that our State is home to some of the brightest and most talented scientists, and we hope this will encourage more South Australians to pursue careers in these fields to continue South Australia’s proud history of scientific and technological innovation.

“Science and innovation are key priorities of this State Government and will help keep our State as a place where people and business thrive.”

“The University of Adelaide will receive more than $3.5 million to support 10 research projects in areas ranging from genetics and plant biology to mechanical engineering and researching DNA processes inside the cell.

The University of South Australia has won more than $1 million to support three projects including improve water policy and management arrangements in the Murray-Darling Basin and advancing knowledge in tumour tissues.

More than $1 million in funding will also be allocated to Flinders University to support three projects for soil study, the human brain and exploring activities that replenish our groundwater supplies.

“The recognition of these outstanding projects is an indication of the research excellence that exists within our internationally recognised universities.

“The funding will continue to grow our research capacity and capabilities and promote collaboration across industry and research institutions.

“It also complements the work funded through the Premier’s Science and Industry Fund, which encourages investment in key science and research areas in South Australia,” Ms Gago said.

The winning recipients are:

The University of Adelaide

  • Dr Martin Breed, ARC Postdoctoral Research Fellow, $355,000
  • Dr Caitlin Byrt, Postdoctoral Research Fellow, $354,000
  • Dr Wolfgang Globke, Research Associate, $330,000
  • Dr Nan Hao, Postdoctoral Research Fellow, $341,000
  • Dr Tian-yi Ma, Research Fellow, $365,000
  • Dr Danielle Moreau, Research Associate, $345,000
  • Dr Laura Weyrich, ARC Postdoctoral Research Associate, $368,583
  • Dr Steven Wiederman, ARC Senior Research Associate, $359,000
  • Dr Lei Zhang, Cloud Systems Administrator, $360,000
  • Dr Tanya Zivkovic, Senior Research Fellow, $327,612

University of South Australia

  • Dr Chia-Chi Chien, Research Associate, $375,000
  • Dr Adam Loch, Early Career Development Fellow, $374,000
  • Dr Andrew Peterson, Senior Lecturer, History and Civics Education, $336,027

Flinders University

  • Dr Hugo A Gutierrez-Jurado, Postdoctoral Research Fellow, $353,706
  • Dr Margaret Shanafield, Research Fellow, $357,170
  • Dr Nicole Thomas, Postdoctoral Research Fellow, $352,000